How Captain America: The Winter Soldier Trailer Impressed Me

It’s important to know that I don’t just look at music and television shows – like every commoner here, I am pop-culture ambidextrous in nature. With that, let’s talk about the taste Captain America: The Winter Soldier’s new trailer leaves in our mouths… my mouth… that I will be describing to you… whiskey. The point of talking about the impression the trailer leaves, instead of breaking the trailer down scene by scene is because I don’t want to treat the trailer like a movie, because it isn’t – it’s a trailer – and the trailer for Captain America: The Winter Soldier leaves me very excited.

Right from the get-go we get a classic Chris Evans’ quip about not being busy because everyone he knows from his first life is dead, followed by a nice little leap out of a quinjet. Yay! I say “yay” because I think Chris Evans feels more confident about his role as Steve Rogers, thus allowing him to go more in depth with the emotions Cap will have to face while finding himself in the new world. It has already been stated in a many synopsis how “Steve Rogers struggles to embrace his role in the modern world” (courtesy of IMDB.com). Evans needs to embrace his role as Rogers completely before he can go forth and be Cap; based off the trailer, I think he’s on the right track.

We see Cap’s mentality a little clearer in the snippet where he’s talking to Samuel L Jackson’s Nick Fury: “this isn’t freedom, it’s fear” (NSA commentary anyone?). I haven’t read as many Captain America comics that solely deal with Cap, but I like to think that I have a pretty good idea about what the character embodies. Without saying that Captain America in the movies has to be exactly like he is in the comics, I think that the movies are doing a good job at keeping his moral compass the same. ‘Murica! The impression of a strong Cap character for the movie, ultimately, is what will make or break the movie. Evans, doing a good job of being Cap, and the writers doing a good job making Cap a compelling character, will obviously make the movie – and I think it could make it big.

The most important thing that gets me excited to see Captain America: The Winter Soldier is the aspect of the paranoid thriller. I didn’t like Captain America: The First Avenger because I didn’t like it as a WWII movie. It’s very difficult to do a good WWII movie without making it rated R, and Marvel just wasn’t going to have any of that. Captain America: The First Avenger never felt right because it didn’t capture the essence of the war like it should have for a WWII movie. Captain America: The Winter Soldier feels like it will do a better job at being a paranoid thriller than Captain America: The First Avenger was at being a war movie. I’d like to give all that credit to Robert Redford, but I think it’s because I love Robert Redford – and seeing him in the movie means a great deal to me on a personal level for some reason. It’s weird, I know.

Overall, I want this movie to come sooner than later, but it isn’t in the cards. Having watched the trailer a number of times already, I’ve already gotten myself too excited for the release. It’s like losing sleep over Christmas Eve on Halloween (timely enough).

If you feel up to it, you can follow me on Twitter (@barista_brian) or take a look at some of my other posts her on 2nd Floor Commons.

Good Day!

Leave a Reply

