Song of the Day: Janelle Monae – “We Were Rock n’ Roll”

It’s Sunday. Football is on TV, but it’s almost 5 o’clock and that sinking feeling is coming fast. You have work/class/responsibilities tomorrow (If you don’t have these things then congratulations, your life is pretty awesome. You are also a reprehensible human being and I hope you choke on whatever you choose to make yourself for lunch when you wake up at 1pm tomorrow). You don’t want to think about it, but you just can’t quite shake it. The world is out to get you, and there is nothing you can do to keep Monday from swooping in and royally wrecking your shit. But don’t worry my lovelies, I’m here to help you forget with some R&B/funk fusion from Janelle Monae!

Did you watch SNL last night? No? You didn’t? You have a personal life and have better things to do than watch SNL on Saturday night? UH YA WELL ME TOO BUT THEN I MUST HAVE WATCHED IT TODAY OR SOMETHING, HEH HEH YA THAT’S IT! If you did watched SNL, then you got to see Janelle Monae sing/perform/moonwalk/otherwise-gyrate-wildly and you are probably a better person for it. I don’t know for sure. I didn’t know you all that well before. I’m on record as saying that if it turned out that Janelle Monae is an artist that I somehow made up in my head and I’ve been hallucinating for the last two years inside of a padded room somewhere in Virginia, I wouldn’t be all that surprised. She is so eclectic and unique that I’m never quite sure that I didn’t just somehow make it all up and am actually drooling all over myself as they wheel me to my next electro-convulsive therapy session. SHOULD BE A BLAST!

Anyways, if R&B/funk is for you, then Janelle Monae will help lighten the horrible pressing weight that is the upcoming Monday morning. If Janelle Monae is not your cup of tea, then go back and listen to yesterday’s song of the day, because I certainly approve of “3005” as well. THEN GO AND RE-EVALUATE YOUR MUSICAL TASTE YOU INGRATE! Good night and good luck with your upcoming week, sweet reader.

One thought on “Song of the Day: Janelle Monae – “We Were Rock n’ Roll”

  1. This song is my jam. ‘Electric Lady’ is one of my favorite albums of the year, I hope I get to see her live when I’m not being swamped with school/work. I don’t know many people who share my enthusiasm for her music, so major props!

Leave a Reply

