Not the Song of the Day you want, but the one you need: Guster’s The Captain

Good evening everyone, it’s been a long Thursday, and I hope you’ll forgive the lateness of my song of the day post. However, I feel that posting the song of the day in the evening could hold a certain gravity for you, depending on the kind of day you’ve had. I won’t be posting the song of the day every Thursday night, it just happens to be this night.

Without further adieu, I give you Guster’s “The Captain” off their Ganging up on the Sun album. Guster was the second concert I attended: the first was a Bare Naked Ladies concert (I regret nothing). My friend Jeff gave me some Guster songs to listen to early in our sophomore year in high school; after listening to those songs I quickly told him “I want all the Guster that you have… Now I’m worried what you heard was ‘give me a lot of Guster,’ when really I said give me all the Guster you have.” He did, and I was happy. Next thing I knew we were going to the Guster concert in Minneapolis, where the opening song happened to be… “The Captain.”

“The Captain” is the perfect song for my Thursday because of how it illustrates how when a person is having a bad day, that person want’s to be like their hero. Personally, I have a lot of heroes, but my “captain” at the moment happens to be Captain Malcolm Reynolds from the show Firefly. I associate the song with character because of how the two talk of the importance of moving forward when you’re down; and that’s important. I’d say more on the topic, but I really believe that covers it.

Allons’y

Leave a Reply

